Home » Uncategorized » “If I hadn’t had legal aid I would be dead now”

“If I hadn’t had legal aid I would be dead now”

Well. A promising response from Lord McNally. He and @mojgovuk can be sure that we will be keeping a close eye on them to see if the words are more than just words.
Well done to SaveUkJustice

Save Justice

This morning we went to meet Lord McNally, Minister of State for Justice, with two women who have received legal aid. We wanted the Minister to hear from people who have received legal aid directly what it means to them. As we were waiting to enter the Ministry of Justice we spotted Chris Grayling, so we hand delivered the clients’ letters to him too.

Laila’s story – fighting to be safe from persecution

Laila's letter to the Ministers
Laila’s letter to the Ministers

“I came to this country from Somalia to seek protection. When I made my asylum claim I was put in detention and my case was processed in the Fast Track system. Everything happened so quickly: after just two weeks my case had been refused. The Home Office did not even allow me time to get any evidence to support my case. I did not speak any English then and I did not really understand what was happening. Later…

View original post 772 more words

One thought on ““If I hadn’t had legal aid I would be dead now”

Leave a Reply

